1-800-725-9946 Get matched
Bank · Ontario Manulife

Manulife Mortgage Review: Rates, Lending Guidelines and Who They Suit

Be the first to review this lender

Generally for Financially disciplined borrowers with variable cash flow who value flexibility in how their banking works over the lowest posted rate.

Who Manulife is

Manulife Bank of Canada is a federally chartered Schedule I bank and a wholly owned subsidiary of Manulife Financial Corporation, one of Canada's largest insurance and wealth management companies. It was established on 1 January 1993 through the merger of three trust companies, and was the first Canadian bank to distribute its products through independent financial advisors rather than through a branch network. It remains branchless. You deal with it through online and mobile banking, telephone banking, or its nationwide network of mortgage specialists, independent advisors and mortgage brokers. Its head office is in Waterloo, Ontario, with a further office in Halifax.

What Manulife lends on, and who for

Manulife Bank is primarily a prime lender. It is best known for Manulife One, launched in 1999 as Canada's first all-in-one account, which combines a mortgage, other debts, chequing and savings into a single readvanceable account, so money you deposit automatically reduces the balance you owe and the interest charged on it. The bank also offers conventional fixed and variable rate mortgages and secured lines of credit. The all-in-one structure tends to suit financially disciplined borrowers with variable cash flow, such as self-employed professionals and commission earners, and people who value flexibility over the lowest posted rate.

Manulife mortgage rates

Manulife prices on this week's board (updated 2026-08-31) across 5 terms (1-year, 2-year, 3-year, 4-year, 5-year) on the insurable shelf. The public board shows every rate without the lender's name; a free account shows Manulife's rate beside its name, and the board shows where it sits against the other 46 lenders on the sheet.

How to approach Manulife

You can contact Manulife yourself; nothing stops you. What you cannot easily find out is what they will actually accept. How they read employment income, what they will do with a bonus or commission, how much rental income they will count against a property, and what they want documented and how recent it has to be — none of that is published in full anywhere, and it moves.

A licensed broker who places files with lenders like this every week knows those criteria, and more usefully knows how to structure a file so it lands inside them rather than just outside. On anything that is not a straightforward salaried purchase, that structuring is most of the difference between an approval and a decline. It costs you nothing on a prime mortgage — the lender pays the broker when it funds.

At a glance
Lender typeBank · Schedule A
Operated byManulife Bank of Canada
Head office500 King Street North, Suite 500-MA, Waterloo, ON N2J 4C6
Parent or groupManulife Financial Corporation
Websitemanulifebank.ca
Phone1-844-239-4677
Free Renewal Tracker

Track Best Renewal Offers up to 90 Days before Maturity

Get notified on best mortgage rates for transfer and refinance to compare your monthly savings.

We use your renewal month to time the reminders and nothing else. Unsubscribe in one click.

Manulife Mortgage Review: Programs & Lending Guidelines

How Manulife's lending guidelines read from the broker side — the programs on the shelf, how income is qualified, credit floors, terms and where they lend. Consumer-facing policy only: broker submission mechanics and compensation are out of scope, and guidelines change, so confirm anything you are planning around with the lender or a licensed broker.

Manulife's Mortgage Offering — Residential

Manulife Bank lends through mortgage professionals, and its offering is built around a different idea than most: the mortgage and the bank account are the same thing.

Manulife One. The flagship. A single collateral-registered facility combining a revolving line of credit, a chequing account and non-re-advanceable sub-accounts under one limit. Income lands in it and reduces the balance immediately; spending draws it back up. Interest is calculated daily on the net balance. There is no minimum interest-only payment as long as the balance stays inside the limit. It is available on owner-occupied homes, second homes and rental property, with limits reaching well into seven figures.

Manulife Bank Select. The conventional side — fixed and variable-rate mortgages on purchases, refinances and transfers, with a full bank account attached.

High-ratio and insured lending to 95% of value on detached homes, townhouses, condominiums and duplexes, and 90% on triplexes and fourplexes, with a transfer program that pays the closing costs and requires no appraisal.

Also available: an investment property program under Manulife One, a healthcare professional program, an equity-based program for affluent borrowers, a small business owner program, bridge financing, purchase-plus-improvements on insured files, and spousal buyouts.

What is not here: no second-position line of credit behind another lender's mortgage, no lender fees, and no stated-income lending — the specialty programs are explicitly not stated-income products, which is a distinction worth making before assuming they help a self-employed borrower who cannot document income.

Manulife Income and Qualification Requirements

Ratios by program.

ProgramMax GDS / TDS
Standard lendingInsurer and program standards
Investment property (Manulife One)40 / 40
Equity Advantage, above 70% TDSnet worth twice the loan required

Qualifying rate. The greater of the contract rate plus two points or the benchmark. On an insured transfer where the insurance stays in place, the file qualifies at the contract rate rather than the stress-tested rate.

How income is read. Manulife separates fixed income from variable income, and this shapes everything. Fixed income — salary, pension, disability, support, foster income — is treated as stable and not averaged, so a recent raise counts at its current level rather than being dragged down by a two-year average. Variable income is averaged.

Employment income needs a recent pay record or employment letter plus a verbal confirmation with the employer, backed by two years of tax slips or assessments. Where one borrower qualifies alone, the second's income does not need documenting at all.

Self-employed borrowers are assessed at the lesser of the most recent year or the two-year average, with a gross-up and add-backs for sole proprietors, and corporate borrowers qualified on salary and dividends plus add-backs. Professional corporations need accountant-prepared statements.

Pension income counts as fixed. Support income needs an agreement and must continue at least three years. Disability income needs an entitlement letter. Foster income counts where the borrower lives in the property and the agency confirms two years. Child benefits count where they run three more years, the children are under fifteen, and the amount stays within a quarter of employment income.

Investment income has an age rule. Registered retirement savings income is excluded entirely for borrowers under 50, and even above that age is limited to what actually appears on the tax return. Education savings are excluded. Investment income counts only at or below 80% loan-to-value.

US employment income is the only foreign income accepted, documented through American tax filings and converted at the central bank's monthly average.

Short-term rental, rideshare and delivery income is not accepted.

Down payment. Ninety days of accumulation at a Canadian federally regulated institution. Foreign funds are not permitted — a firm line that catches newcomer and cross-border files. Gifts must come from immediate family and be deposited fifteen days before closing.

Closing costs at 1.5% must be evidenced, and if borrowed are serviced in the ratios.

Tax arrears must be current before funding.

Manulife's Specialty Programs

Manulife One. The all-in-one account. To 80% of value overall, with up to 65% available as revolving credit and the remainder in non-re-advanceable sub-accounts. Minimum limits start at six figures and run to $3 million. Because every dollar of income sits against the balance from the day it arrives, the interest saving comes from timing rather than rate — which suits a borrower with irregular but substantial cash flow, and suits a disciplined one far better than an undisciplined one. Debt consolidation is permitted where it sits in a non-revolving sub-account.

Healthcare Professional Program. Resident and practising physicians, dentists and veterinarians within roughly two years of graduating qualify on published projected income figures that vary by profession and stage of training — with physician figures reaching well into six and seven figures — rather than on current earnings. To 90% of value on an owner-occupied principal residence. Professional athletes are treated as salaried with a contract.

Equity Advantage. For affluent borrowers who cannot easily prove income — and explicitly not a stated-income product and not for the self-employed. Lending to 50% of value, with limits scaled by market and lower again on high-rise condominiums. Requires a 700 score on the primary borrower, and above 70% debt service, net worth of at least twice the loan with saleable assets comfortably covering it. Maximum two residences per borrower.

Small Business Owner Program. For established business owners at least two years in with good credit — again not stated income. To 65% of value, with half available as revolving credit. Requires a 700 score, a modest minimum income, and full financial statements. Debt consolidation is not permitted here.

Investment Property Program (Manulife One). Rentals to 80% of value on detached homes and 75% on condominiums, with half available as revolving credit, ratios at 40/40, amortization to 30 years, and no net worth requirement. Up to five rentals plus a principal and second home. Requires strong credit.

Insured transfers. No appraisal, closing costs covered, up to $3,000 of fees capitalized, and qualification at the contract rate where the insurance carries over.

Bridge financing. An unsecured demand loan tied to closing, up to 90 days, available only alongside a Manulife mortgage.

Value-added banking. A full chequing account with unlimited transfers and free cheques, plus a credit card that waives service charges and pays cashback on groceries.

Minimum Credit Scores & Treatment of Liabilities

Scores. The general floor is 650 on the primary borrower, with co-applicants accepted considerably lower. The stronger programs demand more: 700 and above for Manulife One Preferred, Select Conventional, the Small Business Owner Program and Equity Advantage, with 700 to 750 on rentals depending on province. Quebec outside the largest cities carries a higher floor than elsewhere.

Credit history. On standard, high-ratio and investment lending, no bankruptcy or consumer proposal within two years and no judgments or executions. On the Small Business Owner and Equity Advantage programs the window stretches to six years — among the longest published anywhere in this directory, and a reminder that those are premium programs rather than flexible ones. All collections and judgments must be investigated and paid before funding.

Only Equifax is used.

Liabilities. Credit cards at 3% of the balance, with other institutions' cards taken at the greater of the reported payment or 3%. Unsecured lines at 3%. Secured lines and home equity lines at the greater of 3% of the balance or the full limit amortized over 25 years — the limit-based treatment is punitive for a borrower with a large unused line, and reducing the limit does more than paying it down. Student loans at 3% or a ten-year amortization. Deferred and utility accounts at 3%. A reverse mortgage elsewhere is serviced on its full limit.

Shelter costs. Current rent counts where the borrower rents; a borrower living with parents carries a set monthly figure.

Heating uses actual records where available, and a model estimate otherwise.

Manulife does not collect property taxes — they remain the homeowner's to pay directly.

Guarantor income cannot be used at all, which is unusual. A consenting spouse can stay off the loan with independent legal advice, but their income is not counted either.

No lender fees, though the bank account carries a monthly service charge on some programs.

Terms & Amortization Options

Terms. One- to five-year fixed, a five-year variable, and the revolving line of credit. Interest on the variable compounds monthly rather than semi-annually.

Amortization. Up to 30 years, with high-ratio files reaching 30 only for first-time buyers and new builds. The conventional insurable program caps at 25 years or the remaining schedule. A conventional charge transfer cannot extend the amortization, so a borrower moving lenders to lower a payment by stretching the schedule cannot do it here.

Payments. The Select program offers monthly, semi-monthly, biweekly, weekly and accelerated options. Manulife One, the Small Business Owner Program and the Healthcare Professional Program are monthly only — which matters, since accelerated biweekly payments shorten a mortgage by years.

Prepayment. Up to 20% of the original balance each year, at any time rather than only on an anniversary, plus a one-time payment increase of up to 25% — slightly better than the 20% standard.

Penalties. The greater of three months' interest or an interest rate differential — but the differential is calculated against Manulife's own posted rates rather than the large banks' posted rates, and those are typically lower. On a fixed mortgage broken early, this is often a materially smaller penalty than a comparable bank mortgage, and it is one of the more concrete advantages here.

Rate float-down. One permitted during the rate hold, submitted at least five business days before funding, on the same product and term. Not available on quick-close offers.

Rate holds. 120 days on a purchase, 90 on a refinance, available on pre-approvals.

Porting is available.

Registration is a collateral charge on everything, which is what makes the re-advanceable structure work and makes moving to another lender at maturity more involved.

Special Notes

  • The mortgage is a bank account. Manulife One nets income against the balance daily. The saving comes from cash flow timing, not rate, and it rewards a borrower who keeps money in the account rather than elsewhere.
  • Penalties are calculated on Manulife's own posted rates, which are typically lower than the large banks'. On an early payout of a fixed mortgage this is a real and often large difference.
  • The specialty programs are not stated income. Equity Advantage and the Small Business Owner Program both say so explicitly. They serve affluent borrowers with documentation difficulties, not borrowers whose income cannot be evidenced.
  • Registered retirement income is excluded under age 50.
  • Foreign down payment funds are not permitted, and US employment income is the only foreign income accepted.
  • Guarantor income cannot be used.
  • Secured lines are serviced on the limit, not the balance.
  • Bankruptcy and consumer proposal windows run six years on the premium programs, against two elsewhere.
  • Several programs are monthly-payment only, including Manulife One.
  • A transfer cannot extend amortization.
  • Property taxes are not collected by the lender.
  • Short-term rental income is not accepted, and short-term rental properties are not financed.
  • Collateral charge registration on everything.
  • Only Equifax is used.
  • Property standards. No reserve or leased land, parkland, trailer parks, bed and breakfasts, short-term rental properties, care homes, rooming houses, co-operatives, churches, mobile or floating homes, commercial farms, contaminated sites, or flood zones without mitigation. Condominiums with building envelope problems — particularly low-rise wood-frame construction on the British Columbia coast — are excluded, as are condominium hotels and rental pools. Age-restricted and self-managed buildings are accepted, which is more accommodating than most. Minimum size 500 square feet.

Service Area

Ten provinces — British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador — through a list of eligible communities rather than blanket provincial coverage.

The territories are excluded entirely, as are reserve and treaty lands, leased land and parkland.

Single-resource industry towns are specifically excluded, with named examples across several provinces. The reasoning is straightforward — a housing market that depends on one employer can lose its resale market quickly — but it catches communities that other lenders in this directory will serve.

Quebec carries its own credit standards, higher outside Montreal, Quebec City and Gatineau than elsewhere, and certain products are not offered there at all.

Rural properties are valued on the home plus the first five acres, with no maximum property size but no lending value for outbuildings, livestock or land beyond five acres. Agricultural zoning is acceptable so long as the property produces no commercial farm income — the tax bill is checked. Properties near wind farms are not considered.

A full appraisal is required on rural postal codes, properties over five acres, non-owner-occupied properties, loans above a threshold, and several other categories.

Loan-to-Value Treatment

SituationMaximum LTV
Insured purchase or transfer, one to two units95%
Insured, triplex or fourplex90%
Healthcare Professional Program90%
Conventional and Manulife One80%
Manulife One revolving portion65%
Rental, detached80%
Rental, high-rise condominium75%
Rental revolving portion50%
Small Business Owner Program65%
Small Business Owner revolving portion50%
Equity Advantage50%
Foster income above half of total income90%
Rural and acreagehome plus five acres of value

The revolving split is the thing to understand. Manulife One lends to 80% of value overall, but only the first 65% can sit in the revolving account — the rest goes into non-re-advanceable sub-accounts that behave like ordinary term loans. On the investment and specialty programs the revolving share drops to 50%. How the limit is divided at the outset determines how much equity stays accessible later, and it is easier to set correctly at funding than to change afterwards.

The sliding scale caps the revolving line at 80% of the first $2 million in the largest markets and $1.5 million elsewhere, with a lower share of the balance above that.

Rental income treatment. Half the gross rent is added where the borrower occupies part of the property. On a straight rental, a net operating income calculation applies — gross rent less expenses — with a positive result added to income and a negative one deducted or carried as a liability.

Loan sizes. From $100,000, to $3 million on Manulife One and $1 million on Manulife Bank Select, with rental exposure capped per property and in aggregate.

Borrower ratings for Manulife

In today’s world, reviews dictate the service industry. Brokers have taken the hit for bad lenders. We bring the consumer experience to light to help borrowers decide.

Be the first to review this lender

Speed

How quickly did they issue a commitment and get to funding?

Rates

Was the rate you got competitive for the product you qualified for?

Customer service

Could you reach someone, and did they resolve things?

Technology

Portal, e-signing, document upload, online account — did it work?

Transparency

Were the terms, fees and penalties clear before you signed?

Rate this lender

Worked with Manulife?

Score them on the five things above. We confirm every review by email before it publishes, and we publish the bad ones too.

3.0
3.0
3.0
3.0
3.0

Your email confirms the review is from a real person. It is never published, and we do not add you to anything.

Manulife mortgage questions

Is Manulife a real mortgage lender?

Yes. Manulife is a bank (schedule a) based in Ontario, part of Manulife Financial Corporation. Its own site is manulifebank.ca.

What kind of lender is Manulife?

Bank — categorised in our directory as Bank (Schedule I). Chartered banks. Convenient and familiar, rarely the cheapest, and the source of the most expensive break penalties in the market because their interest rate differential is calculated off posted rates rather than the rate you actually pay.

Who owns Manulife?

Manulife is part of Manulife Financial Corporation. Ownership matters mainly because it tends to determine the funding source and, on a fixed mortgage, how the break penalty is calculated.

Should I go to Manulife directly or through a broker?

You can approach them yourself. The reason most people do not is that a lender's real criteria — how income is read, what is accepted as documentation, what will be allowed as an exception — are not published, and they change. A broker who works with Manulife regularly knows them and knows how to present a file to fit them, which on anything other than a simple salaried purchase is usually what decides the answer. On a prime mortgage it costs you nothing either way, because the lender pays the broker when it funds.

Would Manulife approve me?

No profile page can answer that, and any site that tries is guessing. It turns on how your income is earned and how much of it a lender will count, your credit history, the property itself, and how much you need against what it is worth. Those are the questions a licensed broker asks before naming a lender — and they will tell you which ones realistically fit, this one included, and which would price it better.

Where does Manulife lend?

Its head office is in Ontario. Lending areas change and are not always the same as where the lender is based — confirm current coverage with the lender or a broker before planning around it.

Direct broker representation

Would Manulife take your file?

Send us the details and a licensed broker will tell you which lenders fit — this one included, and the ones that would price it better.